three fates yarns

Clotho * Lacheis * Atropos – my knitting life in the hands of the fates

Color Shifting Gradients

My supplier for Terra Sock is now offering put-ups of 50 grams. I’ve thought this would be great for some kind of gradient yarn kit. I’ve always wanted to see some of my favorite colors with different depth of shade (pale or deep), as gradients or as color shifting gradients (both the color and the saturation shifts) You’d get five colors in a package and it would cost you about $75 for around 1155 yards of yarn.

I’ve got six packages to start off with, so it would be good to get some feedback about what’s wanted.

Here are my top choices for making into gradient/color shifting gradients

  • Guinevere – Deep Red to pale pink
  • Lady of the Lake – Bright blue to pale blue
  • Arthur/Uther (gold into pale yellow)
  • Merlin – Deep purple to pale purple
  • Woodsmoke – Dark grey to silver
  • Morgane into Netarts – Teal green to pale green
  • City of Books (Rust to peach)
  • Mt. St. Helens (Extra Deep) to Orange Love Machine (pale)
  • Commuter into pale blue
  • Ursula into Mochi. (That one would be a good trick.)

Thoughts?

2 comments on “Color Shifting Gradients

  1. colormusing
    June 4, 2014

    I love the idea of gradient-dyed kits (I’ve dyed some myself), but I always find myself wondering exactly how to apply them to projects. I’m sure you could make spectacular scarves, which I love to make and wear, but what if I want to make a sweater? I mean, I’d have to have different quantities of some colors to make that work, I think. Are you planning patterns for your kits? I love your color names, by the way!

    • threefatesyarns
      November 20, 2014

      There are some amazing sweaters out there – cardigans like Mon Petit Gilet Raye or Seashore by Isabella Kraemer (http://www.ravelry.com/projects/MillieMilliani/seashore) that need about 1 skien’s worth of a gradient and 1-2 skeins of a contrasting color. So the contrasting color is how you get a sweater’s worth!

      Also, when I dye a kit, I’m actually dyeing 5 whole skeins at a time and then breaking things up. So two will usually match.

      There’s a good bundle of stripes and gradient ideas in the Ravelery group also. Come check it out.

      Sorry for taking so long to get back to you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2014 by in knitting.

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

A finished sweater! Antler from #tincanknits #knit in #threefatesyarns Incendia Worsted in Lady of the Lake #handdyed #knitting #instaknit

flickr photos

IMG_1331

IMG_1327

IMG_1325

More Photos

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers

